Ramblings by Robbin…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Moms, Dads, & Grads! The three really do go together, this Grad would be nothing without her Mom and Dad! May 20, 2008

Filed under: Family,Life in general,The wonderful thing called School — Robbin Brown @ 8:03 pm

 

I am now officially a College Graduate! It is a feeling that I can’t describe to know that I am done and I am so excited to see what God is going to bring my way next! It is going to be incredible, I have no doubt. Both my parents have written very honoring blogs to me about my accomplishments, but I am not alone in it. I would have never made it this far without their love and support. This post is to honor them for all the sacrifices, support and time they put in to make this day possible for me.

Dad- where to begin? You have never had anything, but high expectations for me and you supported, encouraged me and loved me every step of the way to meet those expectations. Never once have I thought because I am a girl that I couldn’t do anything. If anything you taught me I could do more. : ) You and mom got married young and had me before maybe you planned, but I can’t ever remember a day when you didn’t work your butt of to take care of our family. I learned discipline and hardwork from you. Not becasue you lectured me day after day about the importance of working hard, but because you lived it!

Your life, the choices you made to serve God has always been such an inspiration to me. Every Sunday when you teach I learn so much. You’d think that by now I’d be tired of listening to you, but I look foward to what you have to say. It amazes me how you allow God to use and direct you.  You wrote in your letter to me, Since this is the kind of life we have chosen, the life of the Spirit, let us make sure that we do not just hold it as an idea in our heads or a sentiment in our hearts, but work out its implications in every detail of our lives. You do this everyday.  You let the holy spirit shine through you with every word you preach and step you take. That is really the best gift you have ever given me! I am so blessed to have you as my dad!

Thanks so much for always listening to me no matter how long I decided to talk your ear off. : ) Thanks for always being interested in my life and asking tough questions no matter how awkward it made me feel. Thanks for loving me and giving me an example of the way my Heavenly Father loves me. It is because of you and mom I made it this far! That diploma partly belongs to you too! I love you so, so much!

Robbin

Mom- There is no one that understands me more, supports me more, or takes care of me more than you do. I am amazed as I look back over the years of everything you have done for me.  The choice you made to stay at home with me and the girls when we were little means so much. I am so thankful that no matter what happened you were who I got turn to when I needed something. We have def. had our tough times over the years. Remeber 5th-8th grade? Yeah those where some tough years. If someone told me then that by the time I graduated college you’d be not only my mom, but one of my best friends I never would’ve believed them. But that is exactly what happened. You became a friend and a mother. There isn’t anyone I laugh more with or cry more with than you. Thank you so much for always being there no matter what!

Mom, your compassionate heart, care for others, and desire to tell anyone and everyone about Christs love is incredible! I have never once in my life thought I was incapable of anything because you are so capapble of everything and I thought if I can just be half the woman my mother is I can do anything. I don’t think you have any idea how many people you come in contact with are blessed because of a smile you gave them or a kind word you said. You have always been my number one encourager! No matter how overwhelmed I became, you always shed light on the situation. It is because of your hardwork and dedication to finish your degree that I got the strength to get mine. I know that it wasn’t easy, but you did it and so did I! You are an amazing, godly, woman and I am so blessed to have you as my mother!

Thank you for laughing, teaching, loving, encouraging, crying, and just hanging with me! I am the person I am because of the person you are. Any accomplishment or thing I do is possible because of the foundation you and dad gave me. I thank God everyday for you! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

Robbin

 

 

8 Responses to “Moms, Dads, & Grads! The three really do go together, this Grad would be nothing without her Mom and Dad!”

  1. Wow, Robbin, are you sure you are talking about the right Mom? 😉 Thanks so much for this beautiful tribute! I love you and am extremely blessed to have you as my oldest daughter! I pray for you daily and know that God will continue to surprise you with wonderful adventures as your life continues!
    Love, Mom

  2. rob Says:

    Since part of the diploma belongs to me, can I have part of the paycheck that comes from the job that the diploma helps you get?

  3. Jeanie Says:

    You are a tribute to your wonderful parents – and you are their reward from the Lord!

    Good job, Robbin! Congrats!

  4. Defoliate Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Defoliate.

  5. cakboliv Says:

    Hey – you won the – I Love Your Blog award. See my blog. 🙂

  6. Jenny Freyta Says:

    Oh how I miss Robbin’s ramblings. Sigh. Those were the days.

  7. prescription drugs online protonixdrugs in breastfeeding tramadol

    http://www.bebo.com/buylevitraonline1 – buy dreampharmaceuticals from levitra online

  8. Tons of videos we posted on the site. Love it!


Leave a comment